Skip to main content Clear Filters Yes Bathrooms Bedrooms Car parks Dementia Get directions Featured Zoom Back Article icon Facebook Twitter Play Facebook Twitter RSS Info Trending item Drop down Close Member area Search External link Email


All funded homes must meet required accreditation standards and demonstrate continuous improvement with regard to the quality of care and services provided to residents.
(Source: Shutterstock)
(Source: Shutterstock)

The four standards that must be met cover areas such as management, staffing, health and personal care, resident lifestyle, living environment, catering, cleaning, continuous improvement, and safety and security.

Within these standards, there are 44 outcomes, or examples of what people should expect when homes meet the standards.

The Australian Government has a number of measures in place to monitor the quality of care and services.

The Australian Aged Care Quality Agency (formerly the Aged Care Standards and Accreditation Agency) is responsible for the review of aged care homes. It monitors homes to ensure their compliance with the accreditation standards.

You may obtain the accreditation status from the home itself or by accessing the Agency’s website –


If you're concerned about the care or services you are receiving, you can make a complaint by:

  • Letting your service providers know your concerns, or
  • Making a complaint to the Aged Care Complaints Scheme on Freecall* 1800 550 552.

It is recommended that you first try to resolve any issues with your service provider. 


Read next

Talking Aged Care

  1. Your best source of the latest news, stories and articles about aged care.

DPS Guide to Aged Care

  1. Our printed directory of all public and private nursing homes, low care facilities, community care and retirement living

Aged Care Guide is endorsed by:

Read more about endorsements
Have an aged care service you’d like to promote? Promote on Aged Care Guide