Skip to main content Clear Filters Yes Bathrooms Bedrooms Car parks Dementia Get directions Featured Zoom Back Article icon Facebook Twitter Play Facebook Twitter RSS Info Trending item Drop down Close Member area Search External link Email

State winners set to go head-to-head in aged care awards

It has been a big month for aged care providers across the nation, with the staggered announcements of the State and Territory finalists for 2018 Aged and Community Services Australia (ACSA) Aged Care Awards finally complete.

The SA winners of the 2018 ACSA Aged Care Awards (Source: ACSA)

The individual state winners and runners-up were announced throughout July at events within each State and Territory, with the Western Australian awards presentation kicking things off on 13 July, and the South Australian awards finishing it all off in preparation for the national awards in September, on 27 July.

Each State and Territory will be represented at the national awards across six categories, with one winner per category set to be announced as the national winner.

ACSA Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Pat Sparrow has extended her warmest congratulations to all those who have taken part, whether through nominating, attending or as nominee, finalist or winner– and recognised and thanked them for their generous service.

“ACSA’s State awards recognise some of the wonderful people who commit themselves tirelessly day-in-day-out to the care of others,” Ms Sparrow says.

“Our industry is run on the strength of those selfless efforts.

“ACSA’s State-based awards are an important way of giving back some of the recognition they deserve.”

Award category winners for each state and territory include:

  • Employee of the year: David Macdonald, Warrigal (NSW/ACT); Joy Leggo, Multicultural Aged Care Services (Geelong, VIC); Joyce Ashworth, Juniper (WA); Vicki McLennan, Mercy Community (QLD); Tanya Liddell, Eldercare Incorporated (SA), Brendan Hicks, Larrakia Nation Aboriginal Corporation (NT), Clare Jurasovic, Salvation Army Barrington Lodge (TAS)
  • Aged Care Provider of the Year: Warrigal (NSW/ACT); Martin Luther Homes (VIC); Wagin Frail Aged Inc Waratah Lodge (WA); integratedliving Australia (QLD); Resthaven Incorporated (SA), Tjilipi Pampaku Ngura Flexible Care Service (NT), Masonic Care Tasmania (TAS) 
  • Innovation in Service or Design Award: 3Bridges Community (NSW/ACT); Melissa Nicolson, Uniting AgeWell (VIC); Amana Living (WA); Wirunya Aged Care Facility (QLD); Cottages and the Buddy Program, Southern Cross Care (SA/NT)
    “Dinah” Memory Support Wing
  • Volunteer of the Year: Brian O’Rielly, Presbyterian Aged Care (NSW/ACT); Elizabeth De Amicis, Assisi Centre Aged Care (VIC); Gilbert Hicks, Astley Care (WA); Alison Day, Blue Care (QLD); Pina Deguisa, The Society of Saint Hilarion Inc Aged Care Inc (SA), Ann Richards, COTA (NT), Beth Cahill, Meercroft Care (TAS)
  • Lifetime of Achievement Award: Jennie Hewitt, Feros Care (NSW/ACT); Anna Maria Harrison, Umbrella Multicultural Community Care (WA); Esther Arulogun, Carinity Colthup Manor (QLD); Anne Brown, Pennwood Village (SA)
  • Trainee of the Year: Kodey Wicks, Bathurst Seymour Centre (NSW/ACT); Evan Cox, Rise Network (WA); Dipti Hamal, Pennwood Village (SA), Danielle Jacobson, Baptcare Karingal (TAS)

Victorian winner, and national finalist for the Innovation in Service or Design Award Uniting AgeWell has shared their excitement as winners for their “unique” masterclass initiative, which saw chefs from across the organisation’s residential communities battle it out in the kitchen, in an effort to inspire creativity in catering.

Senior Hotel Services Manager Melissa Nicholson was one of the staff who collected the award on the night, and says she is “immensely proud” of the team and grateful for the support received by the Uniting AgeWell community.

“It is rare that food services are recognised at these industry awards, so we were blown away,” Ms Nicholson says.

Federal Minister for Aged Care Ken Wyatt also congratulated all state winners in a video address.

“I congratulate all of the winners - whether achieved as an individual or as part of a team you should be very proud of the contribution you are making and the recognition you so richly deserve,” he says.

“I also encourage everyone working in our world class aged care sector to look at these winning case studies and to think about how you can go above and beyond.

“Exceptional work requires results not only in recognition from your peers but, most importantly, it makes life better for those who rely on your dedication and care - people who may not be as physically or mentally robust as they once were and deserve our kindness consideration and respect.”

The national award winners over the six categories will be announced at the ACSA National Summit 2018 in Sydney from 3-5 September 2018.

More information on the awards and the State and Territory winners, as well as the Summit, can be found online.


Read next

Subscribe to our Talking Aged Care newsletter to get our latest articles, delivered straight to your inbox

Recent articles

Have an aged care service you’d like to promote? Promote on Aged Care Guide