Skip to main content Clear Filters Yes Bathrooms Bedrooms Car parks Dementia Get directions Featured Zoom Back Article icon Facebook Twitter Play Facebook Twitter RSS Info Trending item Drop down Close Member area Search External link Email

LASA say the time to nominate is NOW

A new awards scheme has been introduced by Leading Aged Services Australia (LASA) with the aim of promoting and recognising excellence across the aged services industry.

A new awards initiative has been announced by peak body LASA (Source: Shutterstock)
A new awards initiative has been announced by peak body LASA (Source: Shutterstock)

The nominations for the inaugural LASA Excellence in Age Services Awards 2018 are now open and will recognise nominees across three categories on both a state and national level.

LASA Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Sean Rooney says the awards will celebrate and showcase the significant contributions being made to improving the quality of life of older Australians as well as promoting community involvement in age services.

He adds that the industry has countless professionals, staff, volunteers and organisations who typically don’t look for praise or recognition.

“The awards celebrate the passion and achievements of organisations, teams and individuals in the service of older Australians,” Mr Rooney says.

“It is the dedication and professionalism of these individuals and organisations that make up the backbone of our industry.”

The awards will be judged at a state level across a number of categories, with the winners from each state progressing as finalists to the national awards which will be announced at the LASA National Congress in October next year.

Award categories for the inaugural 2018 awards include:

  • Organisation - Recognising an age services provider who has made an outstanding contribution to care and services development or provision of high level support to the aged by demonstrating leadership, innovation and excellence
  • Team - recognising a team, working within the age services sector, that has created an environment that encourages workplace diversity, positive workplace culture and increased staff well-being through development of a service or process or has used innovation and initiative to improve the lives of older people and improve the age services experience
  • Individual - This award recognises an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the age services sector, has used innovation and initiative to improve the lives of older people, and has delivered high quality care to the aged

Deadlines for state nominations are:

  • South Australia and Victoria - 5pm Friday, 12 January 2018
  • Queensland - 5pm Friday, 16 February 2018
  • New South Wales, ACT and Western Australia - 5pm Friday, 11 May

Nominations can be made and more information on the awards can be found online.


Read next

Subscribe to our Talking Aged Care newsletter to get our latest articles, delivered straight to your inbox

Recent articles

Have an aged care service you’d like to promote? Promote on Aged Care Guide